Crossing over to the dark side for a while

I think I am going to make a cardinal sin for programming teachers.  I am going to try switching platforms next semester to Mac.  I want to teach a course on writing apps.  I think it will interest a lot of kids if they can actually write a game (a very simple game) and install it on their own iPod.  I would have loved to stick with Windows but 9 out of 10 kids have an iPod Touch and 0 out of 10 kids have a Zune and the Win 7 Phone will be a bit late.  I have two MacBooks and 4 iPod Touches from a grant so we will see what happens.  Now I have to figure out which of the many on-line tutorials are worthwhile.  I also have to figure out how to run a Mac.  It took me ten minutes last night to find that the equivalent of Windows Explorer is Finder.  Hopefully this is not the good idea fairy biting me in the rear.  If nothing else it will keep me off the streets at night.

One Response to “Crossing over to the dark side for a while”

  1. Gary Kacmarcik Says:

    Good luck! I think that it’s great that you’re going out of your comfort-zone to keep the students motivated.

    Oh, and as for this being a cardinal sin, I would say the exact opposite. The real sin would be to cover only 1 language on a single platform. To properly introduce students to programming, I think that it’s important to include multiple languages and I prefer to include multiple platforms.

    Of course, the downside is that it’s more work for you — but it’s better for the students.

Leave a Reply

