Biting off more than I can chew (at least at the moment)

As usual I have devised an assignment for my advanced programming kids that I understand and like but really cannot do at the moment.  We are going to write the old traditional Battleship game in Visual Basic.  Luckily Rob Miles has written a nice little set of podcasts on just this game but in C#.  No biggie, the same concepts apply and his videos are very concept based.  Now I know exactly what I want to do, I just do not know how to do a lot of the VB functions.  For instance, the first graphic step was to draw an array of square buttons on the form for the ocean on a game board.  In VB6 I used to do this in a control array.  VB.net has no control array.  Gurrk!  I found the Microsoft forum for VB.net and decided to give it a try.  Jackpot!  In an hour I had two excellent solutions that I almost understand.  The logic of the solutions provided was fairly straight forward; it was some of the syntax that got me.  Things like how AddHandler works, but I can see what it does.  That is one of the problems with learning a language on-the-job.  If the project you want to do is not in a book as a project, it is hard to get a starting point to learn from.  I need a week long “Cool projects for high school teachers who know just enough VB.net to get themselves in trouble” course.  On line tutorials are great, podcasts are great, but they are just a bit difficult to ask questions of.  Offer the course in the Northwest, in the summer (not July 10, I have a marathon) and I, and probably a couple hundred other teachers, would be there.   Back to playing with my program, I want to make the ocean blue, I think I know how to do that.

2 Responses to “Biting off more than I can chew (at least at the moment)”

  1. Alfred Thompson Says:

    For what it is worth, my essay on how to do comtrol arrays in VB (and C#) is at http://acthompson.net/dotnet/ControlArrays.htm

  2. Garth Says:

    More good stuff. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

