CS Pedagogy? We ain’t got no pedagogy.

I am sitting here thinking about what and how I am going to teach in Programming I today.  We are on the third day of Visual Basic.  So far everything has been show and tell on the projector.  I hate show and tell on the projector for several reasons:

  1. Show and tell is as interesting as watching paint dry.
  2. Everything on the screen is slightly out of focus no matter what I do.
  3. The font is very small and my eyes ain’t what they used to be.
  4. I sit in a chair and talk, they sit in a chair and listen and everybody is bored.
  5. I can see the kids twitching to go sit in front of a computer and start hacking something in and I can identify.  I like to hack code in to see what happens and it beats the heck out of sitting and listening.

Yes, 2, 3 and to some extent 4 are technical issues that could be solved with better equipment and some software.  I do not have better equipment or software so they are issues to deal with.  I wish I had the “perfect” programming lab with a high resolution projector, an interactive board so I could be on my feet moving around, a wireless keyboard and mouse, Classroom Management Software and a nifty laser pointer to play with.  I do not and I doubt many programming teachers do.  (Sometimes I have computer lab dreams where I do not have 3 different brands of computers, where I have lots of RAM, screens larger than an iPad or (Oh fantasy) dual monitors, and the kids can access the C drive.)  The problem, and I guess it really is not a problem, is that I just do not see a better way of doing the initial start to the section other than show and tell on the projector.  Show and tell may be the best way to get information to a group but the audience focus and retention absolutely sucks.

Everything I know about teaching programming I have learned by the seat of my pants.  All the programming I know I have learned on my own through the internet and a few books.  (OK, I had a FORTRAN course in 1971 with punch cards, and a Java course in 1980 by a guy that could not teach a duck to float so I do not count those.)  I have never read (not from lack of trying) an article or seen a presentation on programming/CS teaching pedagogy.  I did find an article on pedagogy for CS that might be an interesting read, too bad it cost $99 to read.

I have watched one other high school programming teacher teach.  (The next nearest one I know of is 200 miles away.)  He was a decent programmer I think (he actually has a degree in CS) but his approach was to give them a book and the internet and let them puzzle it out.  He also had a very select group of students.  I go out of my way to attract mainstream students so although they are good kids, they do not live and breathe computers and would have a tendency to wander and lose focus with this approach.  I have had kids where this was a very good approach, but they were computer geeks and were smarter than I.

Every year I look through the local University’s catalog searching for something that might improve my ability to actually teach programming.  Nada.

I need to get back to thinking about what I am going to do next period with my Programming I kids that will be brilliant, entertaining, comprehensive, conclusive, captivating, fun and teach a little programming on the way.  No problem.  I hope the projector works.

2 Responses to “CS Pedagogy? We ain’t got no pedagogy.”

  1. lista de emails Says:

    helpful blog, bookmarked the website with hopes to read more, this is the way a blog should be! thanks! lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

  2. lista de emails Says:

    wow. this blog is truly a gold mine. i will actually try these tips and let you know how they work out! thanks again mate. lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails lista de emails

Leave a Reply

