Christmas break but still at school

It is Christmas break so it is time to work on Powerschool.  This year I am upgrading the server.  The old one is old, in the 10 year plus range.  A hard drive developed an orange blinking light.  It is a RAID 5 so I could have just bought a new drive and replaced it but all the drives are old and it was not worth the risk of more going bad.  A new server was due.  So I follow the Powerschool directions on how to export the data from the old server and import it to the new.  And sure enough it does not work.  I have had issues before doing an upgrade like this where the issue had to do with RTFM.  (Read the f#$@in’ manual.)  All my fault for missing something.  This time I was anal.  I read the directions before doing the export and import.  Heck, I even did a practice run.  Nope, no good.  Powerschool is dead.  Errors up the wazzoo.  Call Powerschool support.  Level 3 could not see the problem.  I am waiting for level 2 to get back to me.

I do not mind.  Powerschool has good support.  What I would like from them after they fix it is an explanation of what I did wrong or what went wrong.  They go in, tinker all over the place and poof, it works.  I am just the kind of person that wants to know how it works and how to fix it myself.  For the next time.

Oh well, time to do some Christmas shopping.  I have not done any yet.  This will be the wife and I’s first Christmas by ourselves.  The daughter is headed with the boyfriend to California to have Christmas with his parents.  Must be serious.  The wife and I are trying to hang in there but not doing so well.  We got the tree in the stand in the living room but that is it.  No lights, no ornaments.  I think this first one is going to be a struggle.  I would assume it gets better with time.  Maybe not.

One Response to “Christmas break but still at school”

  1. Briana Morrison Says:

    Just wanted to say thank you for writing the blog and how much I really enjoy reading it. You very accurately detail many of the struggles of a high school computing teacher along with tech support. And the touch of personal life makes it very relate-able and just pulls me in. Thanks for sharing your life with the rest of us.

Leave a Reply

