Powerschool and I: Angst issues

I am sitting here staring at my Powerschool screen.  I have made a booboo and do not know how to fix it.  I am waiting for PS tech support to give me a call.  Ever have one of those jobs where you do not have a clue what you are doing and have to do it anyway?  That is me and PS.  I have been the PS guy for 10 years and the thing is still a pain in my rear.  I have never been to training in PS, everything is learned by trial and error and then calling tech support.  (Luckily PS tech support is pretty good.  They speak American.  Sometimes with a Southern accent but we manage.)  PS does upgrades a couple of times a year.  They tweak the interface just enough to make something different.  They do not tweak the documentation to keep up.  Bad Powerschool.  Bad.  Bad.

Every year I have to go through the End-Of-Year process.  The EOY process is this semi-convoluted thing that promotes all the kids to the next year.  Sounds simple.  It is not.  There are all sorts of preliminary things that have to be done first and those upgrades seem to change things just enough to screw me up.  One of the prelims is to check student registration dates by running a little built-in process.  The directions then say fix all the errors.  OK, how do I do that?  That is assumed knowledge and therefore cannot be explained in the document that tells you to run the check in the first place.  There is also no way to import information, like the next year’s school dates for semesters and quarters, between schools.  Having to do it three times can lead to typos.  I have made a typo and there is no Delete option so I can go back and fix my typo.  Now if I had an eidetic memory and good documentation I would be in good shape.  My memory and the documentation are both in rough shape so this once a year process is pretty sketchy.  If not done right all sorts of bad things happen.

I am sure PS will call and tell me I can fix that by accessing the Oracle database.  Uhh, yah, sure, right.  Like I go there regularly.

So right now I am suffering a little angst.  I am contemplating my retirement options.

PS called and he fixed the problem remotely.  Goody.  I ran the next error checking report.  Seventy some-odd errors.  I am back to contemplating my retirement options.

Of course having these little issues does help me to understand what a student feels like when they have something in front of them they have very little comfort with knowledge-wise.  Like a new programming assignment when they really did not understand the last programming assignment.  Angst.

Leave a Reply

