It is over and it has started.

Well the Butte 50 mountain bike race is over.  I did not make it to the finish line.  I had to quit at 30 miles.  I started cramping at about 20 miles and it reached the point where I could put no pressure on the pedals.  I had to walk everything that was up.  The water and electrolytes were OK; the hot weather conditioning was not.  It was in the 90s which is HOT for western Montana.  I am a bit gimped up right not.  The cramps ripped the heck out of my quads.  Stairs are a real joy at the moment.  A large number of people had major heat issues.  Next year I will either do the 25-mile race or help with the support team.

So I am back in the office today trying to figure out how I am going to manage the next year.  The elementary school has moved the pre-school to a church a mile or so away.  Apparently I am their tech support.  Of course the powers did not discuss the possibility of me being able to support them with a half-time tech schedule but I am used to not being in the loop for things that involve tech support.  That would make life too easy.  We shall overcome.  Besides, how much tech support can a pre-school need?  Cackle!!

I have to start working on my gaming course this week.  I have about 13 kids signed up for the course and some of them are going to require I actually know what I am doing.  Smart, ambitious kids can be such a pain.  No more naps for me.  I have a warm and fuzzy as to what I am going to do but that really is not enough for the first day.  I am going with Gamemaker using the Gamemaker Language (GML).  There is no drag-and-drop, the kids actually have to code.  GML is very C-like with semicolons.  It is close enough to many languages that if they have to use another language they will have a good foundation.  I looked at a large number of options but considering the make-up of the students (freshman to seniors and zero to two years of programming experience) Gamemaker seemed to fit the best.  I wanted something that they actually had to write line code, had a book to act as a guide, would result in some usable game products and would be fun for the kids.  I looked at Unity and a couple of other like game engines but the learning curve looked a bit steep for a first try.  Gamemaker also does not require much in the way of a computer.  An important factor when the kids are having to use their own laptops.  All my CS courses require the kids have their own laptop or do a long term loan from the school.  No high tech CS lab here with all the stuff needed already installed.  We have all sorts of fun learning install issues.  CS down in the mud.

Time to run to Best Buy and get a DisplayPort to HDMI adapter.  Lenovo computers do not have HDMI output any more.  Learn something new every day, especially when you look all over the computer trying to find the HDMI port on a new computer.  School IT is never boring.

One Response to “It is over and it has started.”

  1. alfredtwo Says:

    I’m starting to get quite a collection of dongles to connect laptops to projectors. Mostly various to VGA but I suspect I’ll need more various to HDMI soon.

Leave a Reply

