The exciting world of school IT life.

I have decided to re-wire the elementary school lab.  All the network cables were just stapled to the walls.  Really tacky.  (There is a pun there.)  Now this seems like an easy task, get cables from computers on tables to a switch on a shelf.  No big deal right?  That is what I thought too.  Since it is an elementary lab all sorts of weird things come into play.  The cable cannot be hung under the tables.  The first graders feet swing there.  I cannot tape them to the bar at the back of the tables because the third graders rest their feet there.  So I am back to the walls.  Now realize this is a very low budget operation.  No nifty cable channel at several dollars a foot to hide the cables in.  I found some stick-on cable hangers at Home Depot and a couple of I-bolts to screw into the wall to tie the network cable to at the switch.  Not elegant (ever notice how elegant and price seem to have a bit of a direct correlation?) but functional and better than cables stapled to the wall.  The cables will still be hanging on the wall but now they will be an organized mess.  I also bought some rainbow colored Velcro straps to bundle the cables with.  Add color to ugly and it is still ugly but now it is ugly with pretty colors.  The lab has a couple of islands of computers.  The network cable used to be stapled to the ceiling and just hang down to the islands.  Again it lacked visual appeal.  I am going to blow the big bucks here.  $30 gets me 15 ft of that rubber strip that cables can be stuffed in to run across the floor to the wall.  Much better than the ceiling dangling motif.  I am also going to add a couple of switches to the tables to reduce the number of cables running around the room.  I have a lot of 8-port switches in my stash.  I can get them free from the Montana State surplus warehouse.  (This is also where I get my computers, monitors and printers.  Free stuff rules.)  I am going to actually make custom cables for most of this operation.  Cables cut to the right length will help a lot to get rid of the cable mess.  Putting RJ-45s on the end of cat-5 cable can be a pain but after the third or fourth one it becomes an art.

Now a public school with a real budget would just buy wireless cards for the towers and be done with cables completely.  I am going to do this lab for about $50.  That we can afford.

The decision to redo the lab was started on a really weird issue.  Half of the elementary lab suddenly decided it would not see the network.  One wall of computers was fine, the rest not so fine.  After an hour of trying to find who was plugged into what because I thought it was a bad cable in the mess of cables I just started unplugging everything.  When I plugged it all in everything came back up for a couple of seconds then lost the internet again.  Let’s see.  It worked fine last week and it does not work fine this week.  What has changed?  I still do not know what started the problem but I think it was an IP conflict somewhere between two computers in the lab.  Why they suddenly decide to be unhappy now makes no sense but whatever.  After changing some computers to dynamic IP addressing the problem seems to have vanished.  I need to check every IP address in the lab and match computer number, computer name and IP just to get things organized again.  After I get the cable mess less messy.

Oh, the exciting life of a school techie.  No expensive certifications or CS degrees needed.  Just the ability to unscramble cables and spell “ip”.

Leave a Reply

