A week of in-service: Another Python course

I just spent a week in an in-service/seminar with twenty teachers on a high school Python curriculum written at Montana State University.  The curriculum is “The Joy and Beauty of Computing” (JBC) and I believe is adapted from a curriculum developed at Berkeley.  It is used at MSU as their introductory programming course.  I had perused the curriculum several years ago and was not impressed enough to change my present curriculum.  It was fairly standard and did not offer me enough to deviate from my core of “How to Think Like a Computer Scientist: Learning with Python 3 Documentation; 3rd Edition” by Wentworth, et al.  The University of Montana wrote a grant to train teachers how to use the JBC curriculum so I jumped in.  Attending these events is very revealing, both about the curriculum and the state of teaching programming in Montana.  I really went to the in-service to meet the other teachers and to get a network started.

I had the opportunity to meet programming and prospective programming teachers from all over Montana.  A couple had come from as far as Wolf Point, an eight-hour drive.  What a broad spectrum.  Everything from a former professional programmer who is now a teacher to an English teacher who had been directed to offer a programming course next year and has never programmed in her life.  There were several business teachers with about the same experience and directive.  (The English teacher sat right next to me.  Poor lady.  Not a clue what she was getting into.  Not a computational thinker.)  Only a couple of us had actually done any CS/programming teaching.     It was a bit interesting talking to the teachers that had been give the directive to offer a programming course at their school.  It was a “come up with something” type of directive.  Not a lot of research or experience guidance behind the directive. As could be expected for a weeklong summer event like this it was an enthusiastic and involve bunch.

Now to the JBC curriculum.  It still does not excite me.  It is missing about 90% of what the programming curriculum needs for beginning programming teachers.  It is almost exclusively a syntax course.  There is very little on how to program prior to hitting keys on the keyboard.  We were doing a semester in a week so admittedly the preliminary work the teacher would do was being greatly compressed but most of the teachers attending did not even understand there was preliminary work to do.  All the pre-planning required to write a program has been ignored in an attempt to get the kids coding.  In the exercises we did I found myself doing exactly what I teach my students not to do, planning at the keyboard and filling those gaps with trial and error.  Most of the teachers there assumed that was the normal programming procedure.  The teacher with professional experience and I had to do a lot of demonstrating.  Little things like have kids walk through the turtle moves were “great ideas”, where she and I considered them required techniques.

As a core the JBC curriculum has what is needed, some syntax and some exercises, but it would involve a lot of work to get it ready for use by teachers who want to really teach programming and computational thinking.

I have said it before and I will say it again, teaching syntax is the easy part of teaching programming.  Teaching the computational thinking skills needed to make that syntax easy is the really hard part.

 

2 Responses to “A week of in-service: Another Python course”

  1. Brian Sea Says:

    I rather like the Thinking Like a Computer Scientist text; It’s a shame that it’s a bit out of date (pygame, etc.). When I teach anything in Python now, I use Hello, World unless I need the cost to be free (then i use Thinking Like a Computer Scientist).

    I don’t quite understand how people think a week workshop will make a CS teacher…. That *might* be true if said “teacher” had a year of CS already and a senior CS teacher to follow up with.

    Good Luck!
    –sea

  2. gflint Says:

    Free is my primary issue. I can use any book or hardware I want, so long as it costs the school nothing. The good thing is there is so much good free stuff out there I can actually work with this requirement. “How to Think” is getting dated but it is still a good core to build around.

    A week is enough to tell most teachers they are in way over their head and to abandon the idea of offering a CS course. For a teacher to learn syntax takes lots of time and error. To learn pedagogy takes years, especially if there is no other experienced programming teacher available to learn from.

Leave a Reply

